COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR PROGRAM

The Instructor Program consists of lectures, oral and written examinations, creating and writing lesson plans, using hand-out presentations and guest artist presentations. It includes hands-on demonstrations of lesson plan presentations specific to teaching cosmetology and related materials and hands-on demonstration of practical skills.

The program is designed for someone already licensed in basic cosmetology and desiring to expand his or her skills to that of teaching in a private or public cosmetology program.

Cosmetology Instructor Course Outline

Course Description

After completion of the course, graduates will be prepared to pass the state board exams. This course prepares the student for employment in the cosmetology industry as an instructor in the private, or public sector of teaching or a school administrator and/or owner.

Course Goals

Instructors use many different techniques to teach the course including, lectures, class discussions, student projects, demonstrations, quizzes, tests and hands-on practical experience. Audio visual aids and guest speakers are also implemented.

Course Format / Instructional Methods

Instructors use many different techniques to teach the course including, lectures, class discussions, student projects, demonstrations, quizzes, tests and hands-on practical experience. Audio visual aids and guest speakers are also implemented.

Course Tuition

Enrollment Fee: $50
Kit & In-school Supplies: $200
Tuition: $7750
Total: $8000

Cosmetology Instructor Course Curriculum

Orientation (50 hrs) – Includes review of course

Introduction to teaching and curriculum (150 hrs)

Course outlining and development (300 hrs) – Includes lesson planning, teaching techniques and aids, developing, administering and grading examinations, student motivation and presentation techniques. It also includes administrative responsibilities such as records management and organizational and regulatory requirements.

Cosmetology Law (50 hrs) – Includes professional ethics, effective communication and human relations, compensation packages and payroll deductions, licensing requirements and regulations and fundamentals of business management.

Teaching (150 hrs) – Includes student learning, overall progress, development and use of testing instruments, assisting in the classroom and clinic and academic advising.

Practice Teaching (300 hrs)

Total Hours (1000 hrs)

Licensing Requirements

In the State of Utah, an cosmetology/barber instructor license requires that the applicant holds a current Utah Cosmetology license, complete 1000 hours, pass a written and practical exam.  Once a student completes the 1000 hours and graduates from school, he or she can go take the tests through PSI then submit application for licensure.  The Examination Application and Fee is $87.00 per exam paid to PSI.  The license fee is $60.00 paid to Department of Occupational and Professional Licensing once both exams have been passed.

For more information, read our Consumer Disclosures and Gainful Employment documents.